Mercy Ballymahon Notes

by: Aoife Kavanagh and Emer Tyrrell

Transition Year News:

The final of the “TY Bake Off” was held in Ms.Minogue’s Home Economics Room on Friday 13th. Emma Campbell, Ruth Noonan, Cillian Flood, Jordan Rohan, Conor Casey and Aaron Farrell competed in the  final after qualifying through the earlier rounds. Congratulations to Jordan Rohan who was our victor in the end, winning with a delicious Spanish omelette!  

Transitions Years held a GAA Coaching course on Friday 13th for , Ballymahon, Colehill and Newtown Cashel primary schools. Thanks to Jordon Coll, Cillian Flood, Jade Tobin, Aaron Kennedy, Oisín Ryan, Rían Cox, Seán Connolly, Colin Kelly, Josh Madigan and Colin Murtagh for organising the event.

Congratulations to Aaron Farrell who won first prize in the Carlow I.T. Bridge Building Competition.. Thanks to his teacher Mr. Seery for his help.

On Thursday 12th, Helen Emmerson visited our TY classes to promote team bonding and initiative thinking.

Thanks to Aoife Ballesty, Aine Bannon, Erik Bogdevicius, Emma Campbell, Ciara Dixon, Emily Doyle, Ellen Kelly, Neil Kilbane, Eitvile Lengvinaite, Brandon Murphy, Josh Madigan, Ruth Noonan, Clara O'Shea, Arron O'Connor, Courtney Richards, Katie Smith, Carol-Anne Yorke and Jordan Rohan who took part in a litter-pick for Ballymahon Tidy Towns on Monday 16th and thanks to Mr. Burke for organising the event.

TY Spikeball coaches: Katie Smith, Aine Bannon, Emer Tyrrell, Ellen Kelly, Catherine Healy, Molly Fox, Clara O’Shea, Aoife Ballesty, Aoife Kavanagh, Emily Doyle and Michaela Quinn held their National Schools blitz on Friday 13th. A great day was had by all and congrats to the Colehill team who took home gold!

Tours on Friday 20th of May:

All our students were invited to go on tour last Friday. The sixth years went to Xtreme Ireland Balbriggan with their year head Ms Reynolds, Mr. O Gara and Ms. Nevin.

Fifth years went to Trobadden Wood in the Dublin Mountains thanks to their year head Ms Honeyman and Mr. O’ Rourke.

Transition years indulged in the Ultimate Outdoor Pursuits Experience, in Portlick for a 3 day camping trip with Ms Bohan and Ms. Ryan.

Third years went to Causey Farm, Kells, Co. Meath with Mrs. Daly, Ms. Cribben, Ms. Minogue and Mr. Culbert.

Second years went to Shannon River Adventure Centre, Roosky, Co. Roscommon with  Ms. Cooney, Ms. O’Donoghue, Ms. O Reilly and Mr. Munds.

First years enjoyed Bay Sports Athlone thanks to Ms. O Sullivan, Mr. McCormack, Mr. Kenny and Ms. Matthews

Other news:

 The Green Schools Committee carried out an online survey on recycling on the Junior Cycle classes as within our school, last Thursday
Congratulations to Ciara Casey on winning gold medal in 4 distinctions in her final tin whistle exam at Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann recently.

We welcome Mr. Seán Larkin to the staff. Mr. Larkin is covering Career Guidance for Ms. O Neill.

Thought for the week:

The highest reward for a person’s toil is not what they get for it, but what they become by it. (John Ruskin)