Mercy Ballymahon Notes

by Victor Shaw Maguire and Edward Heduan

Annual Awards Ceremony

There was great excitement last Tuesdy as the whole school body entered the school gym for our Annual Awards Ceremony. Mark McCormack won Student of the Year and nominees were Aisling Cahill, Lisa Nolan, Conor Whyte and Ciara Casey. The Ceist Award went to Patrick Flanagan. The Mercy Award went to Charlotte Madden 

Sport: For the Senior Girls the winner was Lisa Nolan, Under 16 girls joint winners were Aishling McCormack and Sarah Dillion and Under 14 girls the winner was Clodagh Dillion 

The Senior boys winner was John Shea, Under 16 boys winner was Sam Maxwell  and Jack Murtagh was the Under 14 boys winner.

Creative Subject Awards were as follows Senior Art was Lauren Guinane won and Junior Art student was Sarah Shea. In Technlogy Ciaran Conlon won Best Senior student and Cian Belton won Best Junior student. In Music Ciara Casey won Best Senior student and Aishling McCormack won Best Junior student.In D.C.G Charlotte Madden won Best Senior student and Cian Belton won Best Junior student. Home Economics Niamh Gavigan won Best Senior student and Orla Kenny won Best Junior student. Debating Katie Higgins won the Senior Award  and Katie Gouldsbury won the Junior Award.

Attendance certificates and medals were awarded to large group of students who attained excellent school attendance ranging from one year full attendance to an incredible 5 years full attendance.

Transition Year:

The T.Y’s had their end of year graduation ceremony last Tuesday. The students and their parents came in to hear about the amazing things that they had accomplished over the year.  The students recieved the certificates of the courses that they completed. We would like to thank Mrs Bohan for the outstansding work she did during the year  

We would like to thank Eoin Rheinisch World Cup Medallist and three time Irish Olympian in Canoe Slalom who completed a Sky Sports initiative for a group of our Transition Year students on mental toughness and wellbeing on Monday last.  The students who were involved were Emily Doyle , Clara O Shea, Anne Smyth, Aaron Farrell, Emily Campbell, Rebecca O’ Halleran, Michaela Quinn, Áine Bannon, Ellen Kelly, Louise Grogan, Nicole Fallon, Rachel Bermingham, Catherine Healy, Carol Anne Yorke, Sean Connolly, Molly Fox, Gavin Rynn, Aaron OConnor, James Foley, Colin Kelly, Brad Reid,  Kerryn O Sullivan, Courtney Richards, Neil Kilbane.

Leaving Cert Graduation:

The Leaving Certs had their end of the year barbeque and sports day last Wednesday where they said goodbye to their teachers and peers before they left the school to make final preparations for their Leaving Cert exams. On Thursday they had their Graduation Mass. We would like to thank Fr. Liam Murray our school chaplain who was the chief celebrant and for his work throughout the year with the school. Thanks to Mrs. D. Daly, Mr. Culbert and Ms. O Reilly for preparing the students for the mass. We would also like to thank Ms Malone for organising the music for the service.

Finally we wish all our Leaving and Junior Certificate students the best of luck in their exams. We wish all our readers an enjoyable summer and hope you will read about us in September again.