Mercy Ballymahon Notes

Notes by: Cian Belton and Niamh Hanley

A group of TY girls and Ms. Quinn would like to thank all the staff, students and parents who baked cakes and bought at their bake sale for Longford Hospice on Friday the 28th of April. It was a great success and raised €503. After fundraising for this very worthwhile local charity, the TY girls, Ms. Quinn and Ms. Mc Tiernan are all looking forward to the second half of their challenge, to complete 10km at the Women's Mini Marathon in Dublin on the June Bank Holiday weekend.


Well done to the Transition year students who graduated last Tuesday night after a very busy year. Thanks to their year head Ms. Bohan for all her leadership during the year. Wednesday last the Leaving cert students had their last day at Mercy Secondary School, Ballymahon, They enjoyed an afternoon of sport and chat after their barbeque. This was followed by the graduation mass on Thursday night. Thanks and to the Religion Department for their work in preparing the mass, to Fr. Liam Murray for leading the mass and to Ms. Malone for all her hard work with the choir.  We wish them luck in their study and in their life’s ahead.


We held our annual awards ceremony last Tuesday and we congratulate all the students who received awards for their work over the year. Some of the awards were: Leaving Cert Student Of The Year; Kate Beirne, Ceist award Winner Emma Donohoe, Mercy AwardWinner Eddie Mc Loughlin, Leadership award Winner Rachael Lyons. In the sports category we congratulate Rachel Dillon Senior, Aisling McCormack u 16 and Clodagh Lohan under 14 sports girls of the year. We congratulate Shane Mahon Senior, Ros Claffey under 16 and Seadhna Ryan under 14 boys sports person of the year.

In the Creative category Hannah Jackson and Anna Peters shared the senior art award whileBlathnaid Mc Donagh won the junior art award. In Technology Derek Shaw got the senior award and Jack Murtagh got the junior award. In Music:  Conor O'Brien was awarded the senior and Favour Ogunsakin was awarded the junior music award.  For D.C.G. it was Derek Shaw who won the senior and, Amy Cox won the junior. In Home EconomicsAndrea Higgins won the senior and Amy Maxwell won the junior awards. Réalt na Gaeilgewas won by Oisín O’Reilly at senior level and Cathal Keenan at junior level. The Physics awards were won by Robert Murphy and Derek Shaw


Congratulations to Oisin lane, won the 2K walk and came 3rd in 3K Run, Brendan Finnan came 3rd in Javlin and 2nd in 200 m hurdles and Jayne Walsh got 3rd place in 1200 m walk at the Connaught finals, in Athlone IT recently and qualified for all Irelands on 2nd June in Tullamore,

Well done to Cathal Farrell and Jack Gallagher who competed in the 200m and 800m sprint in the N Connaughts earlier.

Thought for the week:

Not everything that is faced can be changed but nothing will change unless it is faced…… James Baldwin