Mercy Ballymahon Notes

Notes by: Katie Gouldsbury and Tami Dania


On Monday the 14th, there was a Photography Exhibition held in the Longford Arms Hotel. Congratulations to Oisin Brogan who won the County award in the Drink Awareness competition, and Jasmine Stansbury who won Photographer of our School Award.

Congratulations to Claire Beirne and Oisin Brogan who won the TY Bake Off competition with their Muffins. Muirinn Claffey, Eva Harkin and James Murphy got second place with Chocolate chip cookies and  Shauna Gilbride got 3rd  place with her Brownies.


Thanks to Jacob Kajan, Ciarán Hanley, Shane Prior, Oisin Brogan, Claire Beirne, and Alison Dennehy  who visited the Daycare Centre last week.

On Friday the 11th of May, the group of students participating in the Lighthouse Project, Urte Vityte, Liadhan Farrell, Ella McMonagle, Francesca McGreal, Chara Mtisi, Cillian Mckeown, Edel Clabbey and Muireann Claffey gave their final evaluation talk to the Confirmation classes in St. Matthews Primary School. Thank you to all who helped to make the preparation of Confirmation a holy and joyous time.

Well done to the 20 TY students who completed their GAA coaching course and visited St. Matthews, local primary school, for a GAA blitz with the students. Each TY student has a coaching certificate.

Congrats to Laoise Nerney, Jill Dennehy, Ciara Mulligan, Niamh Dempsey and Ellen Shannon who won 2nd place in the National Youth Media Awards-‘Let’s Talk about Drugs’ Competition which was presented to Laoise Nerney and Jill Dennehy on behalf of the team at the Department of Education offices  in Dublin last Wednesday. Thanks to Ms. Bohan who accompanied them and to Mick Conlan for his guidance on this project.


The school had a busy week as our annual school tours took place last Thursday. Sixth years enjoyed a day at Tayto Park with Ms. D. Daly, Mr. Staunton and Ms. O Neill. Fifth years went to Zipit in Lough Key Forest Park, thanks to Mrs. Cooney, Ms. McGovern and Mr. Munds, Mr. Farrell, Ms. Flannery and Ms. Quinn who accompanied the students. Transition year students had a 2 night stay at Portlick Adventure Center with Mrs. Bohan, Ms. Halligan, Mr. Tansey and Ms. Costello. Third years went to Tanagh Outdoor Adventure Center. Thanks to Ms. O Sullivan, Mr. McCormack, Mr. Walsh and Ms. Ryan who accompanied them. Second years went to Pure Skills in Galway with Mrs Reynolds, Mr. Dromey, Ms. Nevin and Mr. Burke. First years went to Bay Sports Athlone with Ms. Honeyman, Ms. O Reilly, Mr. Larkin, Ms. Brady and Mr. O Rourke


Commiserations to the First year boys’ football team who lost the Leinster semifinal against Rathangan. Thanks to Mr. Larkin and Mr. Kenny who coached the boys.

Hard luck to our U14 girls whose campaign in the Leinster championship came to a disappointing end last Tuesday where they were defeated by Loreto Navan in the U14 Leinster Final in Kinnegad. Although it was not to be, all players demonstrated great skill and passion right up to the very end.

It has been an outstanding year of football for this exceptional panel of players who have shown true dedication, determination and resilience all year. 

A big thank you to everyone for all the support throughout the year and to the coaches Ms. McTiernan and Mr. Seery.

Thought for the week:

When you can't control what's happening, challenge yourself to control the way you respond to what’s happening. That’s where your power is.